Are you too old to start a programming career?

Are you too old to start a programming career?

·

2 min read

Hey! Today I wanted to talk about some fears I had before I started studying Software engineering. I started to learn programming on the weekends when I was 32. A few months later I had programmed a very simple website with HTML and CSS and decided to quit my job and study Software Engineering full-time.

Of course there were some doubts. Was it the right decision? Would I be good enough or fail and then have trouble to find a new job as a lawyer, as the employers obviously would notice that I didnt enjoy law, as I quit my job before? Would I be able to "compete" with students, who already have been programming since ages?

Luckily, none of these fears became real. Up until now, I gained all the necessary credits. Of course at the beginning I had to invest more time than the students who had years of programming experience before they started studying. But in these three years of Software Engineering I learned an enormous amount and finally dont have any doubts, that at the end of the studies I will have become a good programmer.

Also Im not afraid of all the IT things I dont know yet any more. As we have learned and used so many different languages and technologies already, I recognize a lot of similiaries and patterns. In my opinion you can quickly learn anything, when you have an overview of how Computers work and used a few different languages and frameworks in some group projects.

Nothing is too difficult to learn, only some things have a few more logical steps than others. It's never too late to change careers! Did anyone make similar experiences? Have a nice day. :)